A two day National conference on Recent Innovations in Phytochemistry (RIPC – 2019) was organized by the P.G. and Research Departments of Chemistry and Botany, J.J.College of Arts and Science (Autonomous), Sivapuram, Pudukkottai on Wednesday and Thursday 21st and 22nd August 2019.

Inaugurating the conference, Rev. Fr. Dr.S.John Britto, Former Director, St.Joseph’s College, Trichy inspired the participants with his motivating speech. In her presidential address in the Inaugural Function, Dr.S.Kavitha Subramanian, Trustee, Karpaga Vinayaga Educational Group, stressed the need for updating the knowledge. Welcoming the participants Dr.J.Parasuraman, Principal appealed to the students to do research in their respective fields. The Chief Guest released a souvenir and the Trustee Madam received the first copy.

The first plenary session was addressed by Rev. Fr.Dr. S.John Britto on plant derived Natural drugs.

The second plenary session in the Afternoon was addressed by Dr.D.Vasudevan, Principal Scientist, CSIR – Central Electrochemical Research Institute Karaikudi on “Phytochemical Screening and chromatographic Finger print profile of some medicinal plants. On the second day the third plenary session was addressed by Prof. Dr.R.Renganathan, School of Chemistry, Bharathidasan University, Trichy. He spoke on the Basic aspects of kinetics and photochemistry.

On the second day the fourth plenary session Dr.S.Jegan Mohan Reddy, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Adikavi Nannaya University, Rajahamundry, Andhrapradesh, spoke on computer Assisted design and synthesis of Novel Chiral Piperazine derivatives from 3- hydroxynopinine.

In the valedictory function, in the presence of Principal Dr. J.Parasuraman, welcome address was given by Dr.C.Muthukumar, Head, Department of Chemistry. Dr. B.Jegan Mohan Reddy gave valedictory address and distribute the certificates to all the participants. From 30 various colleges more than 140 participants are participated and presented paper in oral and poster presentation.

Finally Dr. M.Arumugam, Head Department of Botany proposed the vote of thanks.